Five Ways To Relax

It’s really important to take some me time every once in a while – life can get hectic and we all need some time to relax and think about ourselves for a while, ignoring all the issues that school work and life in general throws at us.  Whether you choose to relax how I do, residing to your bed for the whole weekend and eating your weight in chocolate and crisps so you feel like a baby whale by Sunday night when you have to actually think about doing your homework, or in a slightly more orderly way, here are five ways you can get nice and relaxed after a stressful week.

A SPA NIGHT

When I’ve had a really busy week and I’m feeling bogged down by all sorts of work I like to (not procrastinate it by pampering myself…) have a little spa night for myself.  This usually entails me doing my skincare routine properly and doing a face mask and nose pore strip while having a lovely bath with a lush bathbomb.  Then I’ll usually settle down into my bed for the night, put on some Netflix or a film (I’m loving The Fresh Prince Of Bel Air at the moment, or a classic favourite of mine, Pride and Prejudice – Mr Darcy is just too good!) and eat chocolate!

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

READ A BOOK

I often like to take some me time by reading a book that isn’t what I’m reading at school. GCSE English Literature gets you so used to analysing every single part of a book every time you read it that you end up never reading for your enjoyment anymore (or at least personally) because you always end up thinking why did the author put that there or how pathetic fallacy is used to represent emotions here!  Sometimes, it’s nice to sit down with a warm drink, get cosy with a blanket and indulge in your favourite book just for the actual story of it.  I have so many books in my to be read pile, and I’m planning on getting through a couple hopefully this February half term.  Try a new book you’ve wanted to read for a while, or go read a good old classic – my favourite is Pride and Prejudice

img_4359

RETAIL THERAPY

Shopping is never a bad idea in my books, but it’s especially enjoyable when you go to relax and browse around shops, maybe hit the sales and grab a few bargains.  You could grab your friends and go into town, get lunch and do some shopping – it’s always a great way to forget about all the problems waiting for you as soon as you open your school books to revise and you can have those few hours of relaxation before starting to get down to what you have to do!

img_3638

HAVE A FILM NIGHT

Watching a couple of films with some popcorn and sweets under a big blanket all night is always a way I like to wind down and relax.  I recently watched Bridget Jones’ Baby which I was very excited for as I loved both Bridget Jones and Bridget Jones The Edge Of Reason.  I can fully say I loved it and will be watching it again, although I am still a little wounded that Hugh Grant didn’t feature in it, we still have dreamy Colin! I like to either try a new film that I haven’t seen or re-watch a favourite of mine; Notting Hill, Pretty Woman, Dirty Dancing, Cocktail and the Anne of Green Gables series are some of my favourites.

TACKLE THE PROBLEM HEAD ON

If you have work to do and it needs to be done, the best thing to do is stop procrastinating it and get it done!  We’re all super guilty of procrastination, but you can beat it.  I loved this post on Hannahsbliss about how to actually beat procrastination.  I’d recommend sitting down, planning out what you’re going to do in a diary very quickly and then setting yourself some time to do it.  Now of course, for a master procrastinator such as myself, this can prove a difficult task but it can be done and believe me, I’m working on it myself!  If you do the work you need to do, you can reward yourself with a total lazy time in your bed and drown yourself in chocolate!

I hope this post helped you to figure out some ways in which you can take some me time to relax and sort your brain out, everyone needs it every so often!

Hopefully this post has helped some of you out, especially seen as we are right in the middle of exam season – I know I have my end of year 10 exams/mock GCSE practice exams starting Monday the 19th and I’m going to be needing to take some of my own advice by the time they’re over and done with (which I can’t wait for!).  I’m trying to schedule lots of posts so that I wont have to break off revision to write them at the moment, although believe me, I’d rather write five hundred blog posts than revise the Cold War!!  Lets have a chat in the comments about all your exams and how you’re finding them – I’m dreading mine and on top of that my GCSEs next year!

Soph xx

 

15 thoughts on “Five Ways To Relax

Leave a Reply

