A Little Book Haul

A few books I bought last weekend at the Scope charity shop where I volunteer!

Most of you might not know, but I actually volunteer at a charity shop on a Saturday morning for my DofE, and whilst before this weekend I haven’t been all too interested in the actual stock they have, I have a new appreciation for the books section in charity shops.  Scope (the charity shop I work for) price all their books at £1.00, and they’re about the only section I have any interest in because charity shop clothing has never boded well for me and I never find anything I like in either the clothing or homeware departments anyway.  However, working quite closely with the book section of the shop I’ve found so many gems that I’ve wanted to buy, and this Saturday I succumbed to buying just a few!

img_4358

Now, some kind soul had donated so many of the books from the wordsworth classics range, and they were all completely brand new, never used!  I was pricing them up and found the three I really wanted, although there were many others which I will be buying next week if they aren’t gone!  I got Pride and Prejudice, which I’ve never read but I’m certain I’ll love because I adore the BBC drama of it (Mr Darcy played by Colin Firth is to die for!), I also picked up The Great Gatsby which I’ve started already and Wuthering Heights, another one I really want to read.  I can’t wait to get all these read and perhaps I’ll even do reviews on them!

img_4357

And the final book I got is Beautiful Broken Things which is by Sara Barnard.  Ive wanted to read this ever since Zoe put it  in her book club for WH Smiths, because I read We Were Liars from there and loved it.  I’m positive I’ll really enjoy this one as well!

img_4362

Have you ever read any of these books?  What is your favourite book?  What is your favourite classics book?  Make sure to leave me a comment and tell me!  I hope this has inspired you to check out your local charity shops book section, you can find some amazingly affordable books that have barely ever been touched there!

Love Soph xx

17 thoughts on “A Little Book Haul

  1. My gosh, I need more books! I’m reading little women rn but pride and prejudice is next on my list, and then after that probably great expectations or something like that

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They were a quid from a charity shop and I (may or may not, only cos the Wordsworth classics are my total faves) give them back when I’m done. Wow jaz logged into WordPress for the first time in forever – I’m so shocked

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

