Beauty UK Review

The lovely team over at Beauty UK have sent me some products to try and review for you guys, and I’ve really loved all of them!  Some of the colours are quite out there, and not necessairly what I’d choose but it’s always really fun to experiment.  It included lots of pink shades, which are perfect for spring but as I’m more of a neutral shades sort of girl, it’s helped to push me out of my comfort zone and try new things (like the hot pink nail polish which I’m absolutely loving!).  Sorry for the constant reviews at the moment guys – I will be getting some more varied posts up soon but for now I’ve been really excited to review all these gorgeous products.

IMG_3826

Starting off with the product I was most excited to receive: the Ultimate Pro Contour Palette.  I’m not good at contouring at all, but I’m very excited to start practising!  This palette has a really wide range of colours, which are both contouring and highlighting ones.  The undertones are quite cool for the contour shades though the very far one has got a slight orange base, which could easily be used to bronze the face.  The shades are highly pigmented and as it is a cream formula they blend really nicely and have flawless application.  I’m sure that after I’ve used this a little more I’ll be able to contour like a very bad pro – the infographic on the back of the packaging is really helpful to let you know where to contour, bronze and highlight and provides useful information on the product.  The packaging is matte black, meaning it could be a magnet for makeup covered finger prints though it can be wiped down easily and it looks very luxury.

IMG_3854

IMG_3860IMG_3859

Next up is another cream product.  I’ve never really ventured into the world of cream face makeup, but I’m really glad I’ve now got some products which are of that nature as they are really versatile and lovely. I was sent a cream blush to review, the Sweet Cheeks cream blush in the shade peachy cream.  This cream blush is easy to blend and has great pigmentation, the colour is perfect for spring and suits a range of skin tones. I’m really pale and it gives me a nice, healthy glow and I imagine it would look lovely in summer with a nice tan (a girl can dream!)

IMG_3845IMG_3835

I was also sent a matte lip cream, which as we all know, are huge in the beauty world and I too have latched onto the trend and purchased a few too many.  My favourite brand is NYX for matte lip creams, though the ones by Beauty UK are quite comparable.  I was sent the Lips Matter matte lip cream in the shade Mauve Your Body, and it really is great.  It dries matte almost instantly and has great pigmentation.  One thing I find with liquid lipstick/matte lip creams is that they can be sticky when dry, but this isn’t, which is always a major plus.  However, I wouldn’t say this is true to shade.  It definitely is not a mauve shade, but more of a hot pink, and I would definitely compare the shade to NYX’s soft matte lip cream in Milan (review here). Whilst it’s still a nice shade and will be lovely for summer when you really want a bold, vibrant pop of pink, it most definitely is not a mauve. The packaging is lovely and really professional looking, I especially love the white banding and writing; it’s very modern.  The applicator is a doe foot style so it fits to the natural shape of your lips nicely allowing even application.

IMG_3848IMG_3830

I was sent a lipgloss, which was a real surprise to receive as I haven’t used one in a long time!  I was never a huge lipgloss lover, I often found them sticky and annoying as my hair would get blown into it and stuck there.  However, when I opened this I was excited to try it out and maybe find a new love for lipgloss?  The lipgloss I was sent was the Glacier Gloss in Peach For The Sky.  This is not a super pigmented shade, but it does give a nice peachy gloss to the lips and is perfect for an everyday wear.  It is very moisturising and isn’t super sticky but still quite sticky and not all smooth on the lips.  The application is nice though and it glides on quite effortlessly.  I adore the packaging – the glossy black lid with the clear top to it is very luxurious and the design process seems to have been very thorough for the lipgloss and all these other products!

IMG_3852IMG_3847

The very last thing I was sent was a nail polish.  Now, I am not a nail guru in any way shape or form and my nails are not nice; they’re usually never painted and are never one length.  If I do wear nail polish I chip it within a day or smudge it; I’m really not very dainty.  However, getting this through the post has inspired me to paint my nails and while I didnt use this exact colour, I used a blue/turquoise/green from Avon, I’m really loving it and so far there’s no damage!  Anyway, onto the nail polish I was sent in the shade Pink Pop.  This is a really bold shade and could make a real statement to an outfit, which I’m all for.  The colour is highly pigmented after a couple of coats on the nail it is fully opaque.  The formula edges a little towards the gloopy side but if you give a good shake to the bottle before you use it, you should be fine.  I look forward to using this colour more and more as we edge into the spring and summer months and I think it’ll be really nice to make an outfit that bit more exciting; nail polish can really finish off a look.

IMG_3850IMG_3844

Finally, here are some swatches of the blush, matte lip and gloss in order!  As you can see, the peachy blush is very soft and delicate (on the very top) and so is the gloss (on the very bottom) but I wouldn’t say that the middle shade is very mauve, as it was described to be.  Nonetheless it is lovely and I will be wearing it lots!

IMG_3861

Have you ever tried some of beauty UK’s cosmetics before? Hope you enjoyed the post and leave any suggetions you have for upcoming posts below as my ideas are fast depleting!

Soph xx

6 thoughts on “Beauty UK Review

Leave a Reply

