My Top Tips For New Bloggers

I’ve been a blogger for two years plus now, and my blog is definitely not the greatest, although I feel like I’ve learned some tips and tricks along the way to make blogging easier, some which I really wish I’d known earlier.  I also have some general advice that probably stands for every single blogger.  So here it all is, compiled into one, huge messy post which may or may not help you.

my-top-tips-for-new-bloggers

1. Always Check Your Posts

Before you post something, make sure to read it over, even if only skimming.  It’s important to know what you’ve written, and try read it from a viewers perspective.  Is it engaging and down to earth, do you think the reader will enjoy reading it?  Of course, only ever post what you want to post and post which reflect you, but make sure they’re interesting and you’re passionate about whatever you’re talking about; from a book, to a lipstick to poetry or even current news in the world, always be passionate.  Also, spellcheck before you post!  Spellings are really important, as not only do they infuriate the common grammar police when they’re reading, but they make your blog seem unprofessional.  We’re all humans and we all make mistakes but they can be rectified due to the lovely internet, it’s red squiggly lines and your best friend the spellcheck button.

2. Be Active With Other Bloggers

You can’t expect to grow your blog and have people who want to visit it unless you interact with other bloggers.  I always check out lots of blogs in the comments of other peoples posts, like and comment on some posts and if I like what I see, I follow them.  You can do this on wordpress pretty easily, and platforms such as Bloglovin’ (which you really should get right now) allow you to easily interact with blogs from blogspot or ones which have their own domains.  Some of these people are going to come back to your blog and check it out, maybe even give you a follow.  You shouldn’t beg for them to come follow you in comments, as this genuinely can be annoying, however a ‘I really enjoyed this post & would love for you to check out my blog!’ isn’t going to be too annoying – I know I don’t find these sorts of comments annoying as I like to help blogs grow, but it varies from blogger to blogger.

3. Social Media Is Your Friend

really wish I had known this sooner, because it was only at the one year mark when I got twitter, and even more recently Instagram.  Personally, I prefer twitter for promoting my blog and interacting with other bloggers but Instagram is great for discovering other blogs.  Twitter is my main social media, and I love it because you really can get good engagement from there.  Promotion accounts are great and I’d really encourage that you used them (I love @thebloggershub_) and hashtags such as #bblogger, #lblogger or #fblogger, can be really useful for finding blogs and having people discover yours.  The hashtag #PRrequest is also great for finding brands to work with, which will make your blog seem a lot more professional, and lets be honest, it’s just too exciting when you get free stuff!  I’m going to plug myself now, because how can I not, so follow me on twitter here and Instagram here.

4. Don’t Compare Your Blog To Anyone Else’s

This literally can be so damaging.  I used to compare myself to people with 100 followers, back when I only had about ten.  I try not to compare myself to anyone now, because someone is always going to be more successful than you and you can’t change that, but you can grow your blog and improve it.  If you love the way someone takes pictures, learn from it and try improve yours! Find somewhere which has good lighting, search for good editing software and apps, and get inspiration from places like Pinterest!  You can always improve, learning from other people’s blogs instead of comparing yourself to them is so much more constructive.

5. Photography Is Key

Having nice looking pictures on your blog is something that I think really matters.  As people, we like to look at things and make split second decisions as to whether we’re going to take the time to look at something, and I think this choice is greatly influenced by pictures; if they look nice and Instagram worthy, if they’re eye catching and show something we want to see – all this tells us if we’re going to click something.  Therefore, you should make your images as good as possible in order for people to want to click something.  If your pictures are dark and hazy and grainy, nobody will want to look at it but if it’s bright and airy with a flawless white background, or bold and exciting, chances are people will want to see what you’ve got to say.  It doesn’t take much to make a nice photo, and don’t put me up there as the queen of photography because as we all know, I’m pretty shit, but all you need is a decent camera on your phone.  You don’t need to have a really huge canon DSLR camera and studio lights, your phone camera will do fine.  Some great editing apps are VSCO, or the editing features within Instagram.  I usually use my IPhone 6 to take pictures, or a larger canon camera which I have.  You need some basic props which you more than likely have or can get really cheaply, and this post outlines some of my favourites, all the while giving some great advice on photography.

I hope these tips were useful to you, what tricks and tips do you know of which I haven’t included?

Soph xx

 

23 thoughts on “My Top Tips For New Bloggers

  1. I totally agree with you!! It took me a while to learn some of these things, especially the importance of being active with other bloggers. When I first made my blog, I didn’t read any other blogs–but it is such an important (and fun!) part of being a blogger.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are some great tips; I think what I have to keep in mind as I have only had my current blog for a little over a month is that great things and becoming’s do not happen overnight. Patience is very important.

    ~ Bre

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Patience is so important, and you have to understand that bloggers who are successful have been at the game for so long & put in such hard work and effort. Great things will happen, they just don’t come without hard work! X

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg I absolutely love this! Very helpful for bloggers who are just starting out like me! Now reading this I’m going to go install Bloglovin’ and also make a twitter account just to promote my blog etc. These tips are amazing 💘

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post. I’m just starting out in the blogosphere and a little nervous. Whilst I love the photography side of things, I’m really not confident about the writing side of things. Great tips from you thanks for sharing your tips.x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For me, it’s the other way around, I love writing but my photography is atrocious! I’m sure you’ll be great and well loved in the blogosphere and everyone has things they are better at, but all our skills improve over time! x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

