February Favourites

I feel like I haven’t blogged in a while which is probably true as I have missed a week, but it was my first week back at school and I had lots of tests and quizzes (all of which I did okay on, even getting an A in Chemistry which is my weakest subject so I was so happy with that!).  I should be back into the swing of things after this week, as I sit my Food Technology GCSE on the very day you are reading this – in fact, I will have done it by the time this is posted.  I can’t wait to have it over and done with and I really hope I can achieve the merit or better still distinction I am hoping for.

Onto the actual post, I’m coming at you with a February favourites and what I’ve been loving in this month.  I’m not sure how everyone feels about favourites posts – I feel like they can end up all too common at the end of the month, every man and his dog are doing them and your readers are littered with very similar posts.  Nonetheless, they can always be interesting to see what someone has been loving! Make sure to tell me in the comments if favourites posts are something you’d like to see more often.

img_3990

So, first off I’ll start with makeup products.  There isn’t too much here but definitely some things I have really been enjoying!  First up is the NYX Lip Lingerie in the shade ruffle trim.  This is a more recent purchase which I bought in Bournemouth at the weekend, but i have been wearing it ever since and it is becoming a staple in my lip collection!  It’s a very natural colour, a dark pinky-mauve-nude and I will say one thing; it is very, very matte.  And with extremely matte things not only comes a gorgeous look but insane dryness of the lips.  I try not to use this too often just because it does in fact make my lips feel like the Sahara desert (a good lip balm is very necessary – I reviewed these ones the other week which I’ve been using and they’re great!) however I’m willing to sacrifice my lips to it because it’s so damn pretty!  The formula dries matte very fast and is very lightweight so not noticeable at all apart from if you smack your lips together, which is when it can be quite sticky.  The applicator is long and quite thin which makes it relatively hard to apply, unlike a doe foot applicator, however it is still rather easy.

img_3991

Then I have this lipstick from Jack Wills which I got for Christmas from a friend but have just recently started to use as it is a very pink-nude spring time colour and although right now the UK is not screaming spring (thanks Doris for ruining my week!), I for one cannot wait for warmer weather, which naturally I reflect in my lipstick taste!  It’s very moisturising and the colour payoff is lovely – it does tend to look bad on chapped lips so do make sure they’re treated with lip balm for a few days before you wear this.  The packaging is a matte navy with silver accents which I think is very chic and appropriate for Jack Wills.

img_3994

Last is not a lip product but actually an eyebrow gel by Pixi.  I never before realised just how crucial an eyebrow gel can be in your makeup routine until I got this in my M&S beauty calendar and have used it ever since.  I think it really polishes off a makeup look, and the copper lettering on it (although it has slightly worn off now) is absolutely gorgeous.img_3993

Next up is skincare.  I’ve recently been using the Neutrogena grapefruit face wash and not only is the bottle very aesthetically pleasing, the product is amazing!  The scent really wakes you up on a morning, but isn’t strong enough to irritate even the driest, most sensitive skin (aka mine).  It makes your skin feel very soft and super clean!  I’ve also been using the Superdrug hydrating face mask which you can see my review on here , but it has totally been my skin saviour during these freezing storms we’ve been having.

img_3988

img_3987.jpg

Next up is the Garnier Micellar Water which I’ve re-purchased and been using again.  I cannot get over how amazing this product is, it’s hyped up in the beauty world for such a good reason – it hydrated your skin whilst literally removing makeup with one stroke.  It’s such a miracle product, everyone needs this in their skincare routine.

In my apparent hunt for spring, I’ve been loving fresh, fruity scents.  I’ve been using the body sprays from hollister more and more often than usual this month and one which I often use is Pallisade Beach.  This smells so fruity and tropical, very reminiscent of summer for me!  I always have one in my school bag and a couple at home and I seem to go through these like wildfire – it’s a good job that hollister have offers of 3 for 2 on them more than often.

img_3996.jpg

Last but not least is my diary. I got this for Christmas and have loved using it to help me organise my week and all the homework I have.  I think that especially for GCSE students, a diary is essential.  My school uses an online homework facility but as great as it is for accessing it anywhere and a good functioning tick list system, it never keeps me fully organised.  I love to use my diary to plan every aspect of my week, from school work to blog posts to what I’m doing at the weekend.  I’ve also included a picture of what a typical weekly spread in my diary might look like, although it’s not super artistic like some you see!

Hope you enjoyed this post – do we have any of the same favourites this month?  Sorry about the appalling pictures, it was dark when I took them and that was the only free slot of time I had to write and produce this post.  I’ll update them by the weekend when I’ve got much more free time!  Wish me luck on my GCSE, lets hope it went ok!

Soph xx

10 thoughts on “February Favourites

    1. Ah that’s so cool! And thanks, it went okay but I think I really ballsed it up on one question and the way it’s marked means my whole grade drops to the lowest mark 😬

      Like

      1. I’m sure it’ll be fine! And if not, GCSEs don’t matter in the grand scheme of things so don’t worry and focus too much in the results, just do your best :3

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

