Benefit Roller Lash Review

I recently purchased Roller Lash by Benefit in the boxing day sales for £19.50.  You can buy it here on Benefit’s website.  We all know that Benefit are really rather wonderful, right?  They always create amazing makeup which never fails to live up to expectations.  I’ve been wanting to try this mascara for a long time now, and so I figured that I’d grab it when I was last shopping and give it a go.  I can tell you, I wasn’t disappointed!

The first thing which struck me about the mascara was the packaging.  I know that technically this really shouldn’t matter, because you’re not paying for the tube but for the actual product inside.  However, it always makes you feel better having forked out (a worthwhile, don’t get the wrong idea here) £19.50 when the packaging looks so amazing.  Staying true to it’s name, the packaging really reminds me of hair rollers, especially the lid.  The lid is in fact really nice to hold, which always helps to achieve a nice look on your eyelashes.  I think the black and pink looks very chic and pretty, and I love displaying this on my dressing table.

The wand on the mascara is amazing.  It has loads of hook like bristles which are gentle on the eyelashes and still manage to catch each and every single lash for optimum length.  Because the bristles really powerfully hook onto your lashes, they help achieve a really dark black look and create intense, uplifted curls.  You can really layer this mascara for a deep black long and voluminous looking lash effect, or just keep it to a simple one or two coats, wiggling the brush from the lashline to the top of your eyelashes, for a simple, long lashed, fresh eyed daytime look.  I love using this for school as I feel like it makes my eyes look bigger and more awake, which is exactly what I need!

The formula itself shocked me, as I wasn’t expecting it to be so amazing.  Don’t get me wrong, I was expecting something pretty good for the pricetag (which is totally reasonable considering how great this mascara actually is), but not something as good as this.  I feel like I really put it to the test on Tuesday at school.  I had my average six hour school day, but it was the first day back, I had a history exam first period and then also was in a new maths set, which really stressed me out.  Throughout the day when I checked my makeup, my mascara was holding up so well!  There was no smudging on my lower lashline and no wearing off in length and the curl had held itself up.  When I got home to remove it (I’m weird like this, I always will take my makeup off as soon as I can!), it was still on and in good nick, the curl was still there along with the length, and there was no smudging or anything bad.  It’s a smooth formula which is really nice to apply, it doesn’t ever go clumpy, but sometimes it feels a little bit sticky which can be weird, but if you are gentle with the brush it doesn’t do this.

Overall, I really love this mascara, and I think its a great idea to buy it if you’re looking for mascara which will last all day and give you really long, defined & curled lashes then Benefit’s Roller Lash is a really good one for that.  Personally, I think it’s better for everyday use as it can give a more lighter, daytime look, versus a smoky nighttime one.

Soph xx

13 thoughts on “Benefit Roller Lash Review

Leave a Reply

