Autumnal Room Touches

Hi guys!

Recently I ran a twitter poll asking you guys what you’d like to see on my blog this week and autumnal room touches came out on top, which I was actually really glad about because I had really wanted to post this!  Just so you know, I do polls on Wednesday blog posts quite often so if you want to have a say in what I’m posting you should go follow me on my twitter (shameless plug but you know, we gotta do what we gotta do!) which is linked right here!

I love autumn, and I think it’s really nice to have a cosy room when the colder weather hits!  Take a look through all this to see what I’ve done!  So, I guess I’d best get on and show you what things I have added to my room to make it all cosy and autumnal!

autumn-room-touches-cover

First off is on my bedside table, which is this amazing candle from Glade I belive. It’s in the scent spiced apple and cinamon and is one of the larger jar candles.  I love candles from Glade as they have a real kick of scent – sometimes even more thank Yankee Candles, and cost only a fraction of the price of a Yankee Candle!  The only thing I’m a teeny bit sad about is that I’ve found this to run out quite quick, but the scent is very strong and spicy so perfect for autumn months!

img_3051

Next up is my chest of drawers, also known as a dresser by people in America I do belive!  This was the place where I had a lot of space to play with, so I pretty much just let autumn from my back garden and shops go throw up all over it!  The best thing about all my decor is that it is mostly all free, apart from a couple of quid here and there on some candles or decorations – almost everything else is sourced from my garden (or my brother’s school which seems to mass produce conkers, he’s been bringing a bag into school every single day and coming back with it almost splitting it’s so heavy!).  In the middle I have a white bowl which has been around my house since I was a baby I’m sure, and it’s filled with pinecones, some of which I have painted the edges of with a glittery nail polish, and tonnes of conkers!  Conkers keep spiders away, and we all know how horrible it is when you’re landed with a huge house spider -it makes me want to die!  Luckily I have the force of nature here to protect me!!  I love how this looks because it’s so autumnal!  I also have two foam/polystyrene pumpkins either side of the bowl, and they were one pound for both of them in Tiger (has amazing haloween things out, strongly suggest checking it out if you want to be festive cheaply!)

 

In the corner closer to my TV, I have the same candle which was in my September Favourites post I believe.  This scent is orchid and honey, and whilst it isn’t too strong it just tones down the very spicy scent from my other candle which I like.  It also creates a gorgeous ambience in that area of my room – plus, it was only one pound from Primark!  I also have a watering can tin thing filled to the brim with conkers too (you can clearly see that I love conkers a lot!)

Last but not least, I have my feather.  How weird does that sound?  Honestly, it is quite weird, but I really like it!  My Dad was in the garden and found a feather which he brought up to me to show me, and I thought it was realy unique and the colours were quite autumnal, so I decided to keep it and encorporate it into my room somehow!  I simply threaded some string through one side and stuck it down with some sellotape on the other, and this was born.  It definitley livens up my walls, which are currently all very white!

img_3062


So, thats all the things I have in my room for Autumn! I personally think that, especially in the winter months, your room needs to have some added decor bits to make it feel cosy and welcoming, and I hope I’ve inspired you today and shown you that you don’t need to fork out a load of money to get your room looking cute!

Whats your favourite thing in your room for autumn?  Tweet me a picture @ZalfieFanatic!

What would you like to see on saturday?  I was planning on posting a makeup tutorial but if you’re not interested do leave suggestions!

Soph xx

8 thoughts on “Autumnal Room Touches

Leave a Reply

