Bloggers Recognition Award

Hey guys,

The amazing and wonderful and lovely Alanna over at I’m A Galaxy Girl has nominated me for the Bloggers Recognition Award!  Alanna is one of THE best people I’ve met over blogging, she’s so kind and amazing and is one of my most loyal followers.  I love her so much, and you should all go check out her wonderful blog and follow her – she posts every single day which, as we all know, is the real struggle in life and she always keeps up to it.  Amazing, anyway, I’ll get on with the award (but you really should follow Alanna!).

The Rules

Write a post showing your award
Thank the person
Briefly describe your journey as a blogger
Give advice to other bloggers
Nominate other bloggers

My Journey as a Blogger

In January/February 2015 I had just started a new school & still I was a bit bored (typical) and I’d always wanted to start a blog.  I read through loads of other blogs and then realised that blogging didn’t have to include my name, I could be whoever I wanted to be whilst still being myself.  That’s when my Mum and I (who was very frustrated at me for always being so bored) came up with the oh-so-creative I’m A Zalfie Fanatic.  I blogged nearly every day at first, didn’t know how to use wordpress and was getting no followers, and I very nearly gave up.  I started learning how to use wordpress and soon I found I had a good few followers and that just grew.  Now, I’m 120-odd followers and so so so glad I didn’t give up, because blogging is one of my favourite things in my life.  It’s amazing to connect with other people, have a supportive group of friends who can listen to you whenever and I’ve met some great people along the way.  I recently stopped being anonymous and revealed my name (my last post here) and I got so much support it’s insane.  I’m looking to make my blog more me, more professional etc and everyone just supports me in everything I do. It’s particularly great, actually.

My Advice to Other Bloggers 

  1. Good quality photos – I’m the biggest culprit for not sticking to this rule, but I cannot express how important it is!  Cover photos are the first things someone who’s looking at your post is probably going to see, so the more eye catching it is the more likely they are to click it.  When you’re taking photos for your blog, research other really successful bloggers and look at how they take photos.  Choose a style and try stick to it.  The camera you use is important – Iphone 6 has a great camera, and it’s good to use on the go if you see a pretty flower and want to snap it for your blog, but if you’re taking a good photo, ideally you should use a good camera.  Lucky for me, my Dad has a canon camera which I may or may not be inclined to stealing forever once or twice, but you can always buy a cheaper digital camera and they work well too.
  2. Have fun – Your blog should be about you, and you should always try to be yourself on your blog.  However, a rule i use above that is to have fun.  Blogging shouldn’t be a chore, it should be a place you can escape and have fun.  Always make sure what you’re posting is you, and when you wrote it you had fun and you liked the outcome.  Then, all your followers are more likely to enjoy reading it if they can sense it’s well written and fun.
  3. Never give up – Blogging is hard, there’s no doubt about it.  Keeping up a schedule is hard, getting inspiration for posts is hard, taking photos and writing can be hard.  But whatever is going on, however hard you’re finding it, whoever is giving you grief, even if you have so little hope left in yourself you don’t know the definition of hope, don’t give up.  Blogging will get easier and chances are you’re just frustrated, bored with it, if you have such a small following, still don’t give up.  Keep going, and in the long run you’ll thank me for it!
  4. Interaction with followers -If anything this is my most valuable piece of advice.  You must must must interact with your followers.  I’m not saying follow everyone back who follows you, but if they comment on your post be sure to reply, even if it is just ‘Thank you’.  If they ask you to check out their blog then do, and go like/comment on some posts.  You never know, you might find a blog you love.  Your followers will realise you’re actually all for blogging and be more loyal to your blog if you interacr with them.

Nominees:

Chocolatedrops 

Makeup by Kalia

Nearly A Princess Blog

Thanks so much for reading guys, see you next time!

Soph  (we’re going with Soph, okay?)

Twitter|Pinterest|Wattpad|Previous Post

 

 

12 thoughts on “Bloggers Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

