Too Face Chocolate Bar Palette Review

Yes! Finally, the long awaited review I’ve been talking about since Christmas.  I’m really excited today to be doing this review today for you guys, on one of my all time favourite eye shadow palettes!  This one is the Chocolate Bar palette by Too Faced, you can buy it at Debenhams (here) for those of you who live in the UK, and for those of you who live in the US, you can get it at Sephora (here).  It’s quite an expensive palette at £39.00, but it is definetley worth it, you’ll use it ALL THE TIME. I use this palette all the time, it’s perfect for everything, from going out to general every day wear.  It has a mixture of shimmer, satin & matte shades with two highlight shades (or one base shade & one highlight), and they’re all pigmented really well.

Before we start, let me tell you this, I am showing swatches.  On my arms.  I have horrible, freckly and oddly hairy arms *feels very awkward* so if you have anything to say about them, I’d adore it if you just kept those thoughts to yourself as I do hate my arms.  I know they’re freckly and hairy & that I’m pale but you really don’t need to tell me. They’re my arms, I know them very well, I have to look at them every day so I know how freckly, hairy and pale they are.  Thanks.

So, on that joyous and awkward note, shall we begin?

img_0925

 

Okay so here is the packaging.  I love it, I find it really cute & it looks so perfect.  It’s designed like a chocolate bar, as you can probably tell.  It has that beautiful writing on it & yeah, that’s that.  The packaging itself is really well built, very robust & slim so you can fit it into your makeup drawer with no trouble, and it’s very good for travel.

img_0928

Here are your colours.  The two long large ones are highlight/base shades.  I use the top large one, White Chocolate – this is matte, as a base & the bottom large one, Champagne Truffle, as an inner corner and brow highlight.  Then you have your matte shades, of which there are 6: Milk Chocolate, Salted Caramel, Semi-Sweet, Strawberry Bon Bon, Cherry Cordial and Triple Fudge. Your more shimmer shades are: Gilded Ganache, Marzipan, Creme Brulee, Black Forest Truffle & Candied Violet.  The rest are more satin with a touch of shimmer shades, and they are: Hazelnut, Haute Chocolate & Ammaretto.  I think I’ve covered all the shades there.

As for the formula, all the eye shadows are nice and creamy, with high pigmentation & really easy to blend.  They last for a good while, easily for me a whole 6 hour school day (when I can refrain from rubbing my eyes, which is an annoying habit I have), but they definetley last longer.  I find mine tends to loose pigment slightly after this 6 hour mark, but not drastically and they last a really long time.

Next, swatches (MIND MY ARMS):

img_0929

These shades are (from left to right, that will be the way I say ALL the shades now) Gilded Ganache, Salted Carmel & Hazelnut.  Gilded Ganache looks more green on the eye, as if you look at the palette it is an olive toned shade (very wearable, don’t worry).  Salted Caramel is my go to transitional colour, and Hazelnut is a shade I reach to often for my lid.

img_0930

Here is White Chocolate (which you can’t see very well at all because I’m so pale), Marzipan & Creme Brulee.  White Chocolate is a really good colour for cancelling out any discolouration on your eyes, which is why I use it as a base shade.  Marzipan has to be one of my favourite shades in this palette.  You see the colour much better in person, but it is a super iridescent shade, with an almost rose gold tint, it brightens your eyes no end and I mean wow, I just love it.  I also use Creme Brulee all the time with Cherry Cordial, it looks super luxury & ugh I love it!

img_0933

Next up is Semi-Sweet, a light matte brown shade which I often use in my crease.  The colour is very build-able and easy to blend into other areas of your lid.  Then we have Haute Chocolate, a dark shimmery/satin brown.  I use this not all too often, but when I do I use it on my outer V or smudged along my lower lash line.

img_0934

Here is Milk Chocolate, Strawberry Bon Bon (which is very light, andwould show up better on non ghostly skin) and Cherry Cordial.  Milk chocolate I use often as my crease/transitional colour or even just to blend, it’s very versatile.  Strawberry Bon Bon is lovely, very pigmented after you load it onto your lid, it’s also a lovely highlight.  Cherry Cordial is a more burgundy tone in real life, and is very beautiful & another of my favourite shades.

img_0935

Here is Black Forest Truffle, Candied Violet & Champagne Truffle.  The first two are deep brown & purple shimmery colours – candied violet has LOTS of glitter.  Champagne Truffle is a lovely, creamy and intensely shimmery highlight shade.

img_0936

And last but not least we have Triple Fudge, a browny-greeny-black matte shade which is beautiful for blending throughout the crease for a heavier look, and one of my personal favourite shades, Amaretto.  Amaretto is a satin shimmer finish purple pink brown and the colour pay off is amazing.

Overall, I would rate this product an 8.5/10, because while I personally think it is amazing, I know some of you will be put off by the £40.00 price mark (although it is definitely worth it’s money).  I also love the fact that the shadows are chocolate scented, it helps to wake me up as I do my make-up and it’s not too overpowering; nobody can smell it on your eyelids when it’s on.  However some of you might find it not to your taste (don’t eat it, please, I was tempted but please refrain).

I’m off school for two weeks now, so I’ll be posting more often (I’m going for every day but lets see how that fails?)

Bye!

10 thoughts on “Too Face Chocolate Bar Palette Review

Leave a Reply

